VAUMC District Map (2011)

The Alexandria District

The Alexandria District of the Virginia Conference is comprised of 55 churches and a membership of approximately 39,101. The district covers churches located in parts of Fairfax, Fauquier, and Prince William Counties, as well as the cities of Alexandria, Fairfax and Manassas. The Alexandria District is represented in green on the map at the right (letter A–click to enlarge).

District Superintendent: Rev. Dr. Sarah Calvert
District Lay Leader: John Meeuwissen

DS Sarah Calvert has prepared an introductory video to help clergy and congregations get to know her.

Alexandria churches may use this video in worship, on their websites, and in other digital means as needed.

It can be downloaded directly from Dropbox here: Sarah Intro Video

Lead with Love LogoLead with Love

From Alexandria District Superintendent Sarah Calvert. 

Lead with Love is my vision for Alexandria and Arlington.

When I was praying after General Conference, it was a pretty desperate “help!” kind of prayer. How do I lead in the midst of denominational chaos, fears, anxieties? I heard “All you can do is lead with love, as I do,” and I got such peace around that!

Lead with Love is what I pray I am able to do. This is a robust love that I am talking about – not our false-happy, terminally nice, afraid to take a stand love, but love that Jesus showed when he asked hard questions, called out religious authorities like me on our hypocrisy and injustice. The kind of love that lets God transform me, even when painful, so that I can lead with love. The kind of love that transforms stuck systems and reconciles broken communities and brings health and vitality to churches so that they can lead their neighbors to this same kind of love.

Our Churches

map icon for description Use the map below to see where the Alexandria District churches are located (blue pinmarks). For the list of churches, click the white-outlined square in the map's title bar.

Directory and Book of Reports

Find the 2021/2022 Alexandria District Directory here.

To search the directory, click on the link above and use [ctrl] [F] on Windows or [Command ⌘] [F] on Mac to open the ‘find’ option. Then type the information you’d like to search for into the find/search window.


Find the 2020 Book of Reports here.

Previous Books of Reports:

Contact the District Office

Call: 703-820-7200 | Email: